Baaack in the U.S.A.

I’m in Olympia, WA, at the home of my delightful aunts.  We’ve just had a delicious Thai meal, and then some equally delicious talk, tea, and cookies.

Why am I here?  I am taking the GRE Biology test tomorrow.  WHY am I taking it in Washington State, instead of back at home?  Well, my friends, it turns out that two months is not far enough in advance to book these things, and it was FULL in Victoria and Vancouver by the time I tried to reserve a spot.  Tragedy!

But a blessing in disguise, because it’s a treat to come out and see my aunts.  Some new perspectives and a change of scenery is just what I needed…  I’ve been in a bit of a rut, just sitting at my desk in my room all day working on applications.  It’s good to get out!  It’s always good to get out.

And it’s strange to be back in the good ol’ U.S. of A.  The customs agents seemed unnecessarily aggressive…  Is it just the dreadlocks?  Do I look more suspicious?  I suppose for the majority of my past border crossings, I’ve been able to say “Why YES officer, I DO go to a very fancy Ivy League University!” whereas now I look like a crazy hippie and am obliged to answer, “er, actually, I’m kind of unemployed right now.”  Oh well.  Washington State is beautiful, the speed limits are in miles, and the people are different. Subtly, somehow.  I think that all of my travelling has made me more alert to differences.  I have a more well-trained eye for :how the people are living,” as my friends in Botswana would say.

Yikes!  Last-minute cramming, then off to bed.

 

Leave a Reply

